top of page

Review: Woven Wings - Stockinette, Light Pillar


Now this wrap threw me for a 6. If there was ever a wrap that doesn't photograph well, this is it! Photos simply do not do this beauty justice.

The contrast of the wooly base and the shiny silk droplets, the vibrance and the colour variation. I've never seen any of it captured true to life!

A lovely wrapping mama, who has become a dear friend and fellow admin of the Australian Sling Studio group generously offered to let me holiday this (size 3) beauty.

This was my first experience with a quad blend and I was a little cautious of the wool.

Wool is one of those materials that babies have a tendency to be allergic to, safe to say, we're fine at this house!

The blend is 15% merino wool, 20% linen, 57% Egyptian cotton, 8% silk.

It's quite thin and lightweight, there's that familiar "prickle" for lack of a better word of linen on the outer side. The silk droplets are shiny and smooth.

The design draws inspiration from a visual atmospheric effect, a light pillar which is when vertical columns of light are created in freezing temperatures. They're often a result of reflective moon or sunlight via ice crystals.

The colour way is a purplish navy blue with ombre pinks and lilacs, the reverse side is mainly violets and lighter pinks, it is truly stunning & sumptuous.

Light pillar is a medium blend at 272g/m^2 but it feels very light in hand to me. True to Woven wings form the width of the wrap itself is quite narrow. Many mums complain about this aspect but I prefer a narrower wrap, especially with a newborn or infant. I can see how something with more width might be desirable for a toddler but a doubled carry should provide a remedy.

This wrap screams luxury, it can dress up any outfit & you know me, my attire is usually a typical mum outfit - designer leggings with a mum bun to boot, tres chic!

it's surprising how supportive this wrap is considering how thin it is.

It encompasses beautiful glide and passes that almost wrap themselves.

It holds in a sloppy job but needs a little attention in chest passes. I loved this wrap in (surprise, surprise) FWCC (tub) poppins, DH & Shepards.

They suggest a little breaking in for this wrap, but the one I tried has been loved, perfect for a squish or infant, possibly toddler in double layered carries. Any level of wrapper, however wrap care might be suited to someone more intermediate.

This is one for the ISO list, and I might have to become a dibs mama if my friend ever decides to part with it.


bottom of page